Skip to main content
SJC Libraries Logo

Libraries

Callahan Library (LI Campus), McEntegart Library (Brooklyn Campus), SJC Online

Collections: Callahan

Reference works are resources that collect facts or brief definitions and are intended to provide the researcher with a general overview of the topic. Reference collections generally includes dictionaries, encyclopedias, atlases, and statistical manuals.

The Callahan Library Reference Collection, which is for in-library use only, is located on the main level near the reference desks. The Virtual Reference Collection is available 24/7 through the electronic resources subscriptions.

 

Ebooks are full text resources accessible through the library's catalog or directly through one of our eBook databases. Currently, there are more than 100,000 ebooks available online.

The majority of the Library's Periodical Journals are available online through the databases the library subscribes to. Patrons wishing to browse through individual journals by title may do so in our Journal Locator system.

The library also maintains print subscriptions to some specialty arts and science journals. Titles can be found in the Library Catalog.  If you would like assistance locating these items please visit the Reference Desk.

Reserve materials are items such as library books, personal books, videos, copies of journal articles and book chapters, that faculty would like kept separated from the general library collection and assigned shorter loan periods to assure greater availability to students.

Physical copies of reserve material are kept at the circulation desk. Electronic reserves are available through the library e-reserve system.

The archives of St. Joseph's College are housed in the Callahan Library in the reserved area. The collection is open to administration, faculty, students and the public. Contact a librarian in advance for access to insure assistance in searching the files.

The archive was established in 1970 for the Long Island Campus. It is comprised of the records of activities of the students, faculty and alumni; student publications, college publications, yearbooks, history of the college and the Sisters of St. Joseph, minutes of Board of Trustees meetings, faculty and college committees.

The resources and services of the Curriculum Library are designed to support current Child Study and Education majors in their course work, field experiences and student teaching.

The Curriculum Library consists of three collections: Children's Literature, Secondary Education and Curriculum materials. The Curriculum Materials collection is designed to provide all education majors with the necessary resources to create lesson plans and hands-on classroom activities.

The Curriculum Collection includes:

  1. Student and teacher editions of Elementary and Secondary Textbooks. Teacher editions include:

    • Course and unit outlines
    • Identification of concepts
    • Statement of objectives
    • Suggested student activities
    • Suggested teaching techniques
    • Evaluation methods
    • Bibliographies of enrichment materials
  2. Basal Readers

  3. Instructional Materials

    • Guides
    • Syllabi
    • Workbooks
  4. Instructional Aids and Manipulatives

Children's Literature

The Children's Literature Collection is located on the lower level near the copy machines. This collection is divided into three sections:

  1. Children's Fiction - arranged alphabetically by the author's last name.

  2. Children's Non-Fiction - arranged by the Dewey Decimal System.

  3. Children's Biography - arranged by the last name of the person about whom the book was written and preceded by "Biog".

Reference

The Reference Area supplements the Curriculum Materials and Children's Literature collections. The materials in this collection are non-circulating and must be used in the library.

The Reference Area consists of books that provide bibliographies and reviews of children's literature.

Secondary Education

The Secondary Education area contains literature and Curriculum Resources for teaching middle school and high school students.

Loading ...

Collections: McEntegart

Reference works are resources that collect facts or brief definitions and are intended to provide the researcher with a general overview of the topic.

The reference collection - which includes dictionaries, encyclopedias, atlases, statistical manuals, etc. - is only available for use within the library and is located on the first floor of McEntegart, near the Reference Desk.

Ebooks are full text resources accessible through the library's catalog or directly through one of our eBook databases. Currently, there are more than 100,000 ebooks available online.

The majority of the Library's journals are available online through the databases the library subscribes to. Patrons wishing to browse through individual journals by title may do so in our Journal Locator system.

The library has also maintained print subscriptions to some specialty arts and science journals. Titles can be found in the Library Catalog. If you would like assistance locating these items please visit the Reference Desk.

Reserve materials are items such as library books, personal books, videos, copies of journal articles and book chapters, that faculty would like kept separated from the general library collection and assigned shorter loan periods to assure greater availability to students.

Physical copies of reserve material are kept behind the circulation desk. Electronic reserves are available through the library e-reserve system.

McEntegart Hall Library collects, preserves and makes accessible records relating to the history of St. Joseph’s College. The archive includes photographs, yearbooks, news clippings, administrative documents and more, 1916 through the present.

Please visit the McEntegart Hall Archives page to view our featured collections. Patrons may search for items in the Library's catalog or browse through the Catholic Research Resources Alliance portal.

The Archives are open to the St. Joseph's community by appointment only. Please contact McEntegart Hall Library for more information.

Located on the first floor, McEntegart Hall Library’s Curriculum Library supports the Child Study & Education department. The children's books and instructional materials in this collection are a part of the circulating collection and may be borrowed for 28 days. The Curriculum Library is open during regular library hours and may be reserved for class instruction or for story time for the children of the Dillon Center. For more information, please contact the Circulation Desk.

The library maintains a collection of audio and visual materials. Many of McEntegart Hall's DVDs and CDs may be requested from the reserves area. LPs have also been converted to digital formats and are available on iPods which may be borrowed for 2 hours.

Laptops and Group Study Room supplies (monitor cables, markers) are available to all patrons at the Circulation Desk. SMART board items and clickers are also available for interactive instruction.

The rare books collection, located in the Technical Services Room may be of interest to those researching the history of education, with an assortment of early children's readers, dating from 1887 to 1942. These materials are only available for use within the library.

The local history collection, also on the first floor, includes books on New York, from the 1800s to the present. The books are a part of the circulating collection but may be borrowed for only one week.

Loading ...
SJC Libraries Website Privacy Policy