Skip to main content
SJC Libraries Logo

Libraries

Callahan Library (LI Campus), McEntegart Library (Brooklyn Campus), SJC Online

Access Services: Callahan Library

The Callahan Library has four Study Rooms available for quiet study or group projects, and students can reserve these rooms online.

Seminar Room A is on the main level near the reference collection. There is seating for 8, a Smart Board, and a laptop.
Seminar Room B is on the main level near the reference collection. There is seating for 8, a whiteboard, a Smart Board, and a laptop.
Study Room 23 is on the main level behind the reference desks. There is a table and seating for 8.
Study Room 31 is on the upper level near the elevator. There are tables and seating for 8.

Print

The College has a printing quota on all public printers (labs and libraries). Each student is allotted $40 in the Fall and Spring semester. Once you have reached your printing quota, you will not be allowed to print on campus until you replenish your printing account. You can view your printing balance by logging into your PaperCut account using your SJC Network username and password.
 
A Top Up Card must be purchased from the library circulation desk. Cards can be purchased in amounts of $5 or $10. Payment is by CASH ONLY. Follow the directions on the card to redeem your printing credits.

PowerPoint presentations should be printed with multiple slides on each page. Please ask for assistance if you are experiencing difficulty printing.

There is one color printer in the Callahan Library located on the main level. Another color printer is available in the Business & Technology Center (B-6).

There is a color copier located in the student lounge in O'Connor Hall.

Copy

Photocopiers are located in several places throughout the Library. Two are located on the lower level; one near the curriculum library and one near the stairwell. A third copier is located on the upper level just above the circulation desk, and a fourth is on the main level near the reference desks.

Copies are $0.10 per page. If you are experiencing difficulties with the photocopiers please ask for assistance at the circulation desk.

Scan

There are two scanners located on the Lower Level of the Callahan Library. One is beneath the stairwell, and one is outside Room L-14.

3D Printing

A 3D printer is located on the main level of the Callahan Library. Workshops are offered periodically, and items can be printed upon request. Please refer to the 3D Printing LibGuide for details.

Borrower’s Card

Patrons must present their St. Joseph’s College ID at the Circulation or Reference Desks in order to check out library materials. Patrons are limited to 15 items.

E-mail Notices

Overdue and Fines notices are regularly sent to patrons by email to their SJC email accounts. Borrowers are still responsible for returning materials on time whether or not they receive such notices, and are responsible for paying any fines or fees that may apply.

Your Loans

Patrons’ My Library Account provides a list of books checked out to you.

Renewals

Books may be renewed at the Library. You may renew an item twice from the original check out date unless another borrower has requested it. Please return or renew items promptly to avoid fines and fees.

Loan Periods

Material Type Loan Period
Main collection books 28 days
Audio material 28 days
Video material 7 days
Callahan curriculum library material 14 days
Callahan curriculum library big books 7 days
Callahan curriculum library textbooks 7 days
Reserve material Varies

Fines*

Material Type Fine
Books $0.10 / day
Audio Material $1.00 / day
Video material $1.00 / day
Hourly reserves $0.25 / hour
Day reserves $1.00 / day

*Students must pay the replacement cost and processing fee for lost or damaged items.

Computer Use

Please note the college computer use policy, as stated in the student handbook.

Everyone who uses St. Joseph's College computer facilities is expected to be socially responsible and to behave in a manner suitable to a productive learning and research environment. Computer users are expected to exercise care in their use of the equipment and are particularly discouraged from consuming unreasonable amounts of limited resources such as paper, disk space, or time on the computers. We support only academic or college work.

Intellectual property is protected by copyright and it is the policy of St. Joseph's College to adhere to the letter and spirit of copyright laws and regulation, including software-licensing agreements. Programs and computer files must be used in an ethical and legal manner and may not be copied in violation of copyright laws. For additional information refer to the federal copyright law (Title 17, U.S. Code) and the standards of fair use (Section 107).

The computer facilities may not be used for non-academic purposes or for personal business.

Computer Labs

The Callahan Library has two instructional computer labs. The primary purpose of these labs is to provide library instruction. When the labs are not scheduled for classes they are designated for individual student use.

The Callahan Library instructional computer labs are located on the lower level: one is located on the lower level near the end of the circulating stacks and one in L10.

PLEASE NOTE: The instructional computer labs are NOT alternative teaching spaces for faculty to hold class.

WiFi

Wireless access is available throughout the Callahan Library for current students, faculty and staff. The libraries’ wireless internet is not secure and use of the service must comply with the college’s Computer Use policy.

Loading ...

Access Services: McEntegart Library

Print/Copy

The College has a printing quota on all public printers (labs and libraries). Each student is allotted $40 in the Fall and Spring semester. Once you have reached your printing quota, you will not be allowed to print on campus until you replenish your printing account. You can view your printing balance by logging into your PaperCut account using your SJC Network username and password.

Printers are located throughout the library and may be used by all students, faculty, staff and alumni with active SJC usernames.

Black and White Printers ($0.10/page): Computer Pods & LITC labs (1st Floor); Lab 203 (2nd Floor); Labs 303 & 304 (3rd Floor)

Color Printers ($0.25/page): Computer Pods lab (1st Floor)

Scan

The Scannx Book Center is located on the first floor of the Library. Please limit your time on the scanner to 15 minutes.   

MakerBot 3D Printer

A 3D printer is located on the 1st floor of the Library. Workshops are offered periodically, and items can be printed upon request. Please refer to the 3D Printing LibGuide for details.

Borrower’s Card

Patrons must present their St. Joseph’s College ID at the Circulation or Reference Desks in order to check out library materials.

E-mail Notices

Overdue and Fines notices are regularly sent to patrons by email to their SJC email accounts. Borrowers are still responsible for returning materials on time whether or not they receive such notices, and are responsible for paying any fines or fees that may apply.

Your LoanStatus/Renewals

Patrons may check their loan status and renew items by signing into their account online.  You may renew an item twice from the original check out date unless another borrower has requested it. Please return or renew items promptly to avoid fines and fees.

Loan Periods

Material Type Loan Period
Main Collection books 28 days
Curriculum Library books 28 days
Audio material 28 days
DVDs 3 days
Local History Collection 7 days
Reserve material Varies
Textbooks Varies (most 2 hour reserves)
Clickers 2 hours (on campus only)
Desktop microphone/headphones 2 hours (McEntegart only)
Smartboard kit 2 hours (McEntegart only)
Laptops 2 hours (GSR only) OR 4 hours (McEntegart only)
Cables 4 hours 
Caluculators 4 hours

Fines*

Material Type Fine
Books $0.10 / day
Audio Material $1.00 / day
Video material $1.00 / day
Hourly reserves $0.25 / hour
Day reserves $1.00 / day
Laptops $5.00/30 min. Up to a maximum fine of $500.00
GSR supplies/cables $.25 / hour

 

*Students must pay the replacement cost and processing fee for lost or damaged items.

Computer Use

Please note the college computer use policy, as stated in the student handbook below.

Everyone who uses St. Joseph's College computer facilities is expected to be socially responsible and to behave in a manner suitable to a productive learning and research environment. Computer users are expected to exercise care in their use of the equipment and are particularly discouraged from consuming unreasonable amounts of limited resources such as paper, disk space, or time on the computers. We support only academic or college work.

Intellectual property is protected by copyright and it is the policy of St. Joseph's College to adhere to the letter and spirit of copyright laws and regulation, including software-licensing agreements. Programs and computer files must be used in an ethical and legal manner and may not be copied in violation of copyright laws. For additional information refer to the federal copyright law (Title 17, U.S. Code) and the standards of fair use (Section 107).

Computer Labs

Computers in the library are for academic purposes. The library has three computer locations on the first floor of McEntegart Hall:

  1. Pods: 24 PC workstations (Pods lab, front)

  2. Mac Lab: 10 Mac computers (near GSRs)

  3. LITC: 24 PC workstations (LITC lab, rear)

McEntegart Hall Library has three Group Study Rooms. GSR 1, 2, and 3 are located on the first floor.  For details, please see the Group Study Room Policy.

To make a reservation, click on Advising, Tutoring & Library Scheduling via SJC Applications in SJC Portal. 

Loading ...
SJC Libraries Website Privacy Policy